COEIT Interdisciplinary Proposal Awards

The College of Engineering and Information Technology (COEIT) announces the awardees of the COEIT Interdisciplinary Proposals (CIP). This competition is open to all COEIT tenured and tenure-track faculty, instructional faculty, and research faculty. Proposals for funding include collaborative groups across departments. This program is designed to cross pollinate ideas for use-inspired research, fostering collaborations across departments and units within COEIT, and preparing for future external grant proposals or foundation funding. In selecting the awardees, emphasis is on interdisciplinary teams and innovative ideas to increase future external funding.

2024 COEIT Interdisciplinary Proposal awards

Developing thermally stable energy materials using physics-based ML models; Alok Ghanekar (Mechanical Engineering) and Rajasekhar Anguluri (Computer Science and Electrical Engineering)

Investigating the Social and Affective Aspects of Large-Language Model-based Augmentative and Alternative Communication Systems; Foad Hamidi (Information Systems) and Lara Martin (Computer Science and Electrical Engineering)

Automating Cybersecurity Compliance in Manufacturing using Data-Driven Digital Twins; Karuna Joshi (Information Systems) and Nilanjan Banerjee (Computer Science and Electrical Engineering)

Cellular Force Generation on Extracellular Matrix Mimetic Surfaces; Molly Mollica (Mechanical Engineering) and Jorge Almodovar (Chemical, Biochemical, and Environmental Engineering)

The UMBC Ethical Software Lab; Mohammad Samarah (Information Systems); Melissa Sahl (Information Systems), Abhijit Dutt Computer Science and Electrical Engineering), Charissa Cheah (Psychology)

Microfluidic Chip Design using Large Language Models; Neha Raikar (Chemical, Biochemical, and Environmental Engineering) and Nilanjan Banerjee (Computer Science and Electrical Engineering)

The role of Interlimb Coordination and Human-robot Symbiosis in Dance Interventions for Mental Health and Wellbeing; Ramana Vinjamuri (Computer Science and Electrical Engineering), Andrea Kleinsmith (Information Systems), and Ann Clemmensen (Dance)

Examining the Impact of Role Models in Building Self-Efficacy and Career-Adaptability of Underrepresented Students in STEM Disciplines; Sanorita Dey (Computer Science and Information Technology and Maria  Sanchez (Mechanical Engineering)

Substrate and Defect Engineering for More Efficient Photovoltaic Systems; Ergun Simsek (Computer Science and Electrical Engineering) and Özgür Çapraz (Chemical, Biochemical, and Environmental Engineering)

Neurosymbolic AI for Scientific Discovery; Tyler R. Josephson (Chemical, Biochemical, and Environmental Engineering) and Jianwu Wang (Information Systems)

Physics-Constrained Machine Learning-Enabled Efficient Grain Growth Modeling for 3D Printed Metals; Ye Lu (Mechanical Engineering) and Houbing Herbert Song (Information Systems)

Did you find what you were looking for today?