← Back to News List

Diane M. Lee Teaching Award Recipients Announced

The Academic Engagement and Transition Programs (AETP) office at UMBC has announced the 2020-2021 and 2021-2022 recipients of the Diane M. Lee Teaching Award. This award was established during the 2020-2021 academic year to recognize faculty and staff who engage with students to make the transition to UMBC, and share their experiences and teaching strategies. Two members of the College of Engineering and Information Technology have been recognized for their contributions to the UMBC and the AETP First-Year Experience program for first-time freshmen and transfer students to UMBC.

Jamie Gurganus, associate director of engineering education initiatives, received the award in its inaugural year as recognition of her contributions to teaching and learning. Gurganus works with first-year engineering students to participate in active and problem-based learning using peer teaching to develop what she calls a student’s “engineering sense making.” Mark Berczynski is the recipient of the 2021-2022 award. As a lecturer in the Engineering and Computing Education Program, Berczynski guides first-year computing students with the skills and techniques to support them to explore, engage, and participate as life-long learners.

  • For additional UMBC Science and Technology stories, visit the UMBC News site.
  • For additional stories about the UMBC community, visit the UMBC Magazine site.
  • For additional COEIT stories, visit the COEIT site.
  • For additional COEIT Research Highlights, including Publications Spotlights, visit the COEIT Research pages on the COEIT Dean's Office site.

Posted: July 2, 2021, 2:07 PM