Skip to Main Content

2017 Alumni Awards

September 12, 2017 7:06 AM
September 11, 2017 by UMBC Community News

Each year, the UMBC Alumni Association celebrates UMBC graduates and faculty who have made outstanding contributions to the University, their fields, and their communities. This year, we are pleased to announce that the Alumni Association Board of Directors has chosen to honor the following distinguished alumni and faculty:

Engineering and Information Technology
Dr. Kafui Dzirasa ’01, M8, Chemical Engineering 
Associate Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, Duke University

Dennis Williams ’14, American Studies 
Head of Content Marketing, Skillshare; Oculus Content Fellow; LinkedIn Top Voice 2016

Natural and Mathematical Sciences
Dr. Kate Laskowski ’06, Biological Sciences and Chemistry 
Scientist, Department of Biology & Ecology of Fishes, Leibniz-Institute of Freshwater Ecology & Inland Fisheries

Visual and Performing Arts
Dr. Alejandro Cremaschi ’93, Music 
Associate Professor of Piano Pedagogy and Chair of Keyboard Studies, College of Music, University of Colorado at Boulder

Social and Behavioral Sciences
Rear Admiral Sylvia Trent-Adams, Ph.D. ’06, Public Policy 
Deputy Surgeon General, Department of Health and Human Services

Distinguished Service
Dr. Steven Storck ’08, Mechanical Engineering and Mathematics, M.S. ’09, Mechanical Engineering, and Ph.D. ’14, Mechanical Engineering 
Additive Manufacturing Application Engineer, The Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory

Rising Star
Lauren Mazzoli ’15, Computer Science and Mathematics, and M.S. ’17, Computer Science 
Systems Engineer, Future Technical Leaders Program, Northrop Grumman

Outstanding Faculty
Dr. Marc Zupan
Associate Professor and Program Director, Department of Mechanical Engineering, UMBC 

All members of the UMBC community are invited to join us in celebrating the 2017 award recipients on Thursday, October 5 at 6:30 p.m. in the Earl and Darielle Linehan Concert Hall.

For more information and to RSVP, visit If you have any questions regarding the 2017 award recipients or ceremony, please contact Stanyell Odom at or 410-455-2632.

Greg Simmons, Vice President of Institutional Advancement
Stanyell Odom, Director of Alumni Relations