Skip to Main Content
COVID-19 (Coronavirus)
UMBC campuses are closed, but courses are now online and employees are working remotely.

UMBC Engineer to Participate in NAE’s First Frontiers of Engineering Education Symposium

October 9, 2009 3:13 PM

[10/7/2009] — Julia Ross, Professor and Chair of Chemical and Biochemical Engineering, is among 49 of the nation's brightest young engineering researchers and educators that have been selected to take part in the National Academy of Engineering's (NAE) first Frontiers of Engineering Education (FOEE) symposium, which will be held November 15-18 in Herndon, VA.

"The Frontiers of Engineering Education program will create a unique venue for engineering faculty members to share and explore interesting and effective innovations in teaching and learning,” said NAE President Charles M. Vest. “We intend for FOEE to become a major force in identifying, recognizing, and promulgating advances and innovations in order to build a strong intellectual infrastructure and commitment to 21st-century engineering education.”

The following engineering faculty members were selected as participants:

Edward BergerUniversity of Virginia
Mary Besterfield-SacreUniversity of Pittsburgh
Surita BhatiaUniversity of Massachusetts
Jay BrockmanUniversity of Notre Dame
Cordelia BrownPurdue University
Shane BrownWashington State University
Winslow BurlesonArizona State University
Richard CassadyUniversity of Arkansas
Brianno CollerNorthern Illinois University
Monica CoxPurdue University
Frank FisherStevens Institute of Technology
Eric FreudenthalUniversity of Texas, El Paso
Elizabeth GerberNorthwestern University
Margret HjalmarsonGeorge Mason University
Lisa HuettelDuke University
Kathleen IssenClarkson University
Jennifer KarlinSouth Dakota School of Mines
Andrew KeanCalifornia Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo
Caitlin KelleherWashington University in St. Louis
Daniel KirkFlorida Institute of Technology
Xenofon KoutsoukosVanderbilt University
Gul KremerPennsylvania State University
Tanya KunbergerFlorida Gulf Coast University
Ted LeeUniversity of Southern California
Krishna MadhavanPurdue University
Sharad MalikPrinceton University
Hazel MarieYoungstown State University
Margaret MartonosiPrinceton University
Christina MastrangeloUniversity of Washington
Jennifer MaynardUniversity of Texas
Joseph McCarthyUniversity of Pittsburgh
Ann McKennaNorthwestern University
Joanna MillunchickUniversity of Michigan
Todd MurpheyNorthwestern University
Roseanna NeupauerUniversity of Colorado
Eric PerreaultNorthwestern University
David RickettsCarnegie Mellon University
William RiddellRowan University
Susan RobertsUniversity of Massachusetts
William RosehartUniversity of Calgary
Julia RossUniversity of Maryland, Baltimore County
Ann RundellPurdue University
Dirk SchaeferGeorgia Institute of Technology
Jen SchneiderColorado School of Mines
Sahra Sedigh SarvestaniMissouri University of Science and Technology
Jonathan WeaverUniversity of Detroit, Mercy
Charles WerthUniversity of Illinois
Lisa ZidekFlorida Gulf Coast University
Julie ZimmermanYale University

The planning committee members of the 2009 symposium are:

Edward CrawleyMassachusetts Institute of Technology
Jack LohmannGeorgia Institute of Technology
Deirdre MeldrumArizona State University
Barbara OldsColorado School of Mines
Michael RicheyThe Boeing Co.
Sheri SheppardStanford University
Karl SmithUniversity of Minnesota/ Purdue University

 The 2009 Frontiers of Engineering Education symposium is sponsored by the O’Donnell Foundation.

The National Academy of Engineering is an independent, nonprofit institution that serves as an adviser to government and the public on issues in engineering and technology. Its members consist of the nation's premier engineers, who are elected by their peers for their distinguished achievements. Established in 1964, NAE operates under the congressional charter granted to the National Academy of Sciences in 1863.